Research into Recovery and Wellbeing

A website about the work of the recovery research team at the Institute of Mental Health

The University of Nottingham

Debate

At each Refocus on Recovery international conference, we hold a debate on a globally topical issue. In 2019 our debate motion is:

“This house believes that there is no place for compulsion in a rights-oriented mental health system”

The debate will be chaired by Samson Tse. Alison Faulkner and Peter Bartlett will speak for the motion, and John Copping and Vicky Stergiopoulos will speak against the motion. 

 

New opportunity to join in with the debate

For the very first time, our debate session will be live streamed via YouTube with The Mental Elf. Conference attenders  and anyone around the world will be able to submit and vote for questions.

To take part, please follow these steps:

  • Download the sli.do App or join online at https://www.sli.do 
  • Use the event code #RonR2019
  • If you're not at the conference, you can watch the debate live at https://elfi.sh/ronr2019-debate
  • Before or during the debate, submit your question or vote for your favourite submitted question on sli.do

The most popular questions will be put to the debate panel. You can submit and vote for as many questions as you like, and the debate Chair will decide what questions are asked.

 

Please encourage your friends and colleagues who are not able to attend the conference to take part in the debate - it's free!

 

If you would like to sign up to receive email reminders to pose questions or watch the debate, please email IMH.Comms@nottshc.nhs.uk and we will add you to our debate mailing list. (Only your email address is required, it will only be used by the Institute of Mental Health and you can unsubscribe from the mailing list at any time.)

 

The 45-minute debate will take place at 12:00pm BST (midday) on Thursday September 5th. The time in other cities:

New York      07:00 EDT 

Los Angeles  04:00 PDT 

Sydney        21:00 AEST 

Delhi           16:30 IST 

Beijing        19:00 CST 

Rome          13:00 CEST 

Kampala      14:00 EAT 

Rio              08:00 BRT   

Toronto        07:00 EDT